question about relay leadoff times

Forums General General question about relay leadoff times

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts
    • #12480

      if a leadoff swimmer in a relay breaks a world record.. and then lets say the anchor false starts.. does the leadoff swimmer still get the record..

      in other words is the leadoff time official no matter what happens with the rest of the relay?

    • #36982
      The15mMark
      Member

      I think this was discussed elsewhere on the forum, but to recap no it’s not.

      A relay that DQ’s nullfies all splits swam on it, including the leadoff.

    • #36983

      @The15mMark wrote:

      I think this was discussed elsewhere on the forum, but to recap no it’s not.

      A relay that DQ’s nullfies all splits swam on it, including the leadoff.

      This is inocorrect. USS swimming/International rules state that as long as the lead off leg was not the reason for the DQ, then the time still stands. This was an issue at a meet this past summer where I was coaching and we confirmed the rule. It is in the USA swimming handbook given to all coaches.

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.