Lead relay split as a qualifying time

Forums General General Lead relay split as a qualifying time

  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts
    • #12301
      D3SWIMMERDAD
      Member

      Can a lead split from a relay be a qualifying time if one of the exchanges causes the relay to DQ?

    • #34858

      Yes.

    • #34859

      No. If the relay is DQed it does not count.

    • #34860
      DonCheadle
      Member

      JHU is correct, a DQ nullifies the lead-off split

    • #34861

      Is DIII different than DI in this respect? In DI you can still use the first leg if a later leg DQ’s, I’m I am pretty positive it used to be this way in DIII.

      I wasn’t able to find the 2007 DIII handbook, but if you look at page 16 of the 2007 DI handbook:
      http://www.ncaa.org/library/handbooks/swimming/2007/2007_d1_m_w_swim_handbook.pdf

      you’ll find this under note 2:

      “A time that has been achieved by a competitor over an initial distance within a regularly scheduled and scored race shall be nullified if that competitor subsequently is disqualified in that race; however, a time achieved by a competitor during the first leg of a relay race shall not be nullified by the subsequent disqualification of a different member of the same relay team.”

    • #34862
      N Dynamite
      Member

      A DQ doesn’t indicate how you DQ’d – even if it was the 3rd exchange it could have been passing the 15 meter mark on the start. It could be the backstroker pushing off the wall on their front. Unfortunately, it could be someone jumping into the water before all of the teams have finished (Olaf/GAC women’s dual anyone?) When you DQ it’s as if no part of the race ever happened.

    • #34863

      @N Dynamite wrote:

      A DQ doesn’t indicate how you DQ’d – even if it was the 3rd exchange it could have been passing the 15 meter mark on the start. It could be the backstroker pushing off the wall on their front. Unfortunately, it could be someone jumping into the water before all of the teams have finished (Olaf/GAC women’s dual anyone?) When you DQ it’s as if no part of the race ever happened.

      Not true. See above.

    • #34864
      Kari Byron
      Member

      I can’t imagine that they would DQ a lead-off leg of a relay if the last guy jumps. In a 200 FR for example, once the lead-off swimmer is done, the subsequent relay starts and swims have no impact on his time or performance. It would be ridiculous to discount a lead-off leg swim just because his teammate left the blocks .02 seconds early a minute after he was done swimming.

      I’m not saying that JHU is wrong, but I would think that the NCAA would follow my same logic and not discount the split.

    • #34865

      In USA/international swimming rules, which are similar to college swimming rules, any time or record (world, team, American, national) still counts for lead off legs if the lead off person was not the reason for the DQ! From what I understand all DQ have to be listed with a reason, College or USA/international. Just because the relay was DQ’d does not mean the lead off time is not counted. We had a similar situation with a kid getting a qualifying time on the lead off of a relay this summer that was DQ’ed.

      Since many of the rules are universal across all types of swimming competition I would assume it is the same here.

    • #34866
      swmwl1
      Member

      swimmers have entered DIII NCAAs with a lead-off splits of DQd relays in the past

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.