NCAAs Final Day Wrap Up!

Men 100 Free

Thomas Thetford of W&L took the championship tonight in a time of 43.41.  Thetford led the entire race, though faced some serious closing speed from Jesse Novak of Rowan University who came back in a 22.41 for a final time of 43.78.  Thetford and Novak were the only swimmers to go sub-44 in the field this evening, though the entire championship final and half of the consolation final were all sub-45.  50 freestyle champion Ollie Smith tied for fifth place with Ian Gaynor, a junior from Widener, in a time of 44.78.


Women 100 Free

Kenyon senior Hannah Lobb edged out the top seed from prelims, freshman Fiona Muir of Emory.  Lobb snuck under 50 with a time of 49.90; the only woman in the field to do so this evening.  Emma Waddell, who was disqualified in the 100 butterfly though otherwise would have taken second in that event, got in for the bronze in the 100 freestyle with a time of 50.06.  The actual 100 butterfly champion, Kirsten Nitz of Wheaton took 13th in the 100 freestyle tonight, going 51.20.  Kenyon took 33 of the available points from the championship final with its two swimmers who placed first and sixth, while Emory took 28 with its swimmers placing second and eighth.  Emory, however, also received seven points from the consolation final runner-up Marcela Sanchez-Aizcorbe.


Men 200 Back

Jackson Lindell took the championship in the 200 backstroke in an electrifying race that was ultimately decided by just one one-hundredth of a second.  Lindell, who also claimed the victory and the Division III record in the 200 IM and the victory in the 400 IM has created a gold rush for Denison this week as an individual performer and as a pivotal relay member.  At this point he is the obvious choice for the men’s Most Valuable Swimmer award.  Lindell’s winning time was 1:46.10, narrowly edging out junior Matthew Williams of CMS who out-split Lindell in the second 100 of the race.  “Bronze medalist” Oscar Anderson was over 1.3 seconds behind Lindell and Williams with a time of 1:47.47, picking up 16 points for Kenyon.  Lindell’s teammate Jason Wesseling finished in eighth place with a time of 1:51.57.  Denison and Tufts were the only teams with two swimmers each in the A final; they took away 31 and 27 points, respectively.


The B final was also a tight race between Douglas Kogut, the winner of the 200 fly, of MIT and Alex McCarter of Williams, who swam 1:47.35 and 1:47.38, respectively.  Had either of them been in the championship final their times would have been good enough for third place.


Women 200 Back

Junior Emma Paulson of St. Thomas crushed the field in a time of 1:56.33.  Second-place-finisher Olivia Jackson, a junior from Williams, swam a time of 1:57.44, followed closely by her teammate, senior Katherine Bennett.  Clare Slagel, champion in the 100 back from Luther College, took the consolation final with a time of 1:58.58, which would have been good for fourth had she been in the championship heat.  Katherine Priest of Williams took 11th place and 6 points, totaling a staggering 39 points for Williams in this event.


Men 200 Breast

In the absence of Emory’s Andrew Wilson the breaststroke events have been wide-open this year, and Ian Reardon from Kenyon stepped up and took the championship with a time of 1:57.78.  200 freestyle runner-up Evan Holder also took second place here with a time of 1:58.11, followed by Michael Lagieski of Washington U. of Missouri who swam a 1:58.82.  The B final was won by Johns Hopkins senior Scott Sterrett in a time of 2:01.69.


Women 200 Breast

Senior Emily Hyde of Amherst took the top spot on the podium for the women, upsetting the young Division III record-holder in the event, Samantha Senczyszyn of UW Eau Claire.  Hyde set a new meet though not Division III record with a time of 2:12.30, only a tenth-of-a-second off of Senczyszyn’s record which was established in February at her conference championships.  Emory and Kenyon both picked up big points in the A final with swimmers taking fourth and fifth and third and eighth, respectively.


Women 3 Meter Diving

Sarah Sheridan of Hope College clenched the victory by a narrow 8-point margin on the three-meter board tonight.  Sheridan also came in third on the one-meter board, which will make her bid for Most Valuable Women’s diver strong.  Wellesley’s Maura Sticco-Ivins took second with 470.55 points, and one-meter runner-up Megan Bartlett of SUNY Fredonia took third on the higher board.  Kenyon picked up 14 points with a fifth-place finish from Maria Zarka, the one-meter champion.  Sarah Sheridan’s MIAA companions Sarah Bradley of Calvin College and Madeline Woods of Kalamazoo College finished in 14th and 16th, respectively.


Men 400 Free Relay

Emory upset again by taking the 400 free relay tonight in a time of 2:57.44.  Not only did every member of the relay split a sub-45, but Ollie Smith went a 43.54 as the relay’s anchor.  MIT took second in a time of 2:58.64 and TCNJ came in third with a time of 2:59.10.  Denison picked up fifth whereas powerhouse Kenyon settled for an unusual 9th place.  Ollie Smith of the champion relay team Emory and Ryan Boraski of Keene State were the only swimmers to go under 44-seconds in this field.


Women 400 Free Relay

Emory double-doubled in the sprint freestyle relays with their women’s team edging out Denison and Kenyon for the victory in the 400 freestyle relay.  Williams took fourth with anchor Emma Waddell going 49.77, the fastest split of the evening.  The 100 freestyle champion Hannah Lobb, senior from Kenyon, had the second fastest split with a 49.91.  The solely-sophomore squad from Johns Hopkins took sixth, where all swimmers went 51’s, and MIT rounded out the top eight.


Final Team Standings: Men’s Top 10

  1. Denison
  2. Kenyon
  3. Emory
  4. Johns Hopkins
  5. MIT
  6. Williams
  7. TCNJ
  8. Wash U. MO
  9. NYU
  10. Claremont MS (CMS)


Final Team Standings: Women’s Top 10

  1. Emory
  2. Kenyon
  3. Williams
  4. Denison
  5. Johns Hopkins
  6. Amherst
  7. Wash U. MO
  8. NYU
  9. MIT
  10. Wheaton

Leave a Reply